A disappointing and frustrating afternoon at The Park as the Green and Whites fell to an unexpected and heavy defeat at the hands of local rivals Brynmawr. This was a match the team would have gone into confidently after a battling double bonus point effort at Ynysybwl (41-48) and two Ben Francis Cup wins against Cwmbran (31-10) and Tredegar Ironsides (20-nil) in recent weeks.

The match kicked off early due to Wales' later match against Argentina and for the first time in weeks an almost full strength back division took the field but, within fifteen minutes reorganisation was once more on the agenda as Liam Crandon was led from the field to be replaced by Ryan Price. This meant Luke Pegler moving to outside half and Conor Miles from the wing to inside half, Price going on to the wing. These changes had a big effect and a lack lustre performance meant the visitors seized the initiative to build a twenty point lead through two tries (one by Nathan Corlett, son of former Tillery man Bruce) both converted and two penalties. 

Changes at the half and early in the second period brought a spirited response but, insufficient to overturn the three score deficit. Jordan Legge and Jack Woodland replaced Anthony Isgrove and Scott Hoskins in the front row, Mike Thomas took over from Rhys Pendrie at lock and Lewis Prosser's entry made the back row more combative but although Mike Williams got a try, converted by Kurtis Haile, the Men from The Big Hill got a third, again converted to run out 27-7 winners. 

To add injury to insult both Pegler and Miles were injured and once again the management may be scratching around in coming weeks, the next match being another early kick off at Brecon on 26th November, the same day Wales play South Africa!

Man of the Match; Dafydd Cripps, battling as always.

Abertillery BG; Mike Williams; Conor Miles, Luke Morgan, Kurtis Haile, Aled Penn; Liam Crandon (Ryan Price), Luke Pegler,captain;

Dafydd Cripps, Anthony Isgrove (Jordan Legge), Scott Hoskins (Jack Woodland); Rhys Pendrie (Mike Thomas), Matthew Catlin; Dan PC Crandon, Joel Wright, Iestyn James (Lewis Prosser)

​​​Abertillery Blaenau Gwent RFC